K-9 Questions 2!!!

Oh hi guys.  Terry asked me if i could help her when her dog sky barks at cars and bikes. Well if your dog is a herding breed then that just means that they’re herding the cars. So the first thing to do if you are only going to the dog park make sky tired and then get in the car when sky is relaxed.  If she does bark get her in the front seat so you can correct her with a firm tug on the leash or say cht and snap your fingers and make cht sound like you mean business and be calm and assertive. This might not work if it does not work tell me

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • gardensister  On July 6, 2015 at 11:04 pm

    Hi Carrie, Thank you! My dog is a coonhound, so your answer got me to thinking about her breed as part of the answer/solution. Since she’s not a herding dog, but rather a dog bred to hunt, I though, “Well, maybe she thinks we’re out on a hunt when we’re in the car.” I thought of that only because you mentioned breed as a motivator. I also hadn’t thought of having her ride in the front seat next to me. Since then things have gotten better. Since she is a hunter, I see her start to react to a car or a person on the sidewalk, and I say “Good girl” before she can start barking, and I hand her a treat (I have it in my right hand, so I can just take that hand off the wheel for a second to give her the treat). She is doing much better. So thanks for reminding me about the breed AND putting her in the front seat. You’re the best!

    • rreagler  On August 15, 2016 at 10:49 am

      Thanks! 🙂 By the way if you want to be able to understand you dog teach your dog tricks you will understand SO MUCH MORE about them!

  • marf50  On July 1, 2015 at 1:01 am

    Oh Carrie! You’ll be a good mom, too! LOL! nana

  • Kim Krause  On June 30, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    This seems like a very helpful suggestion!!

Leave a Reply

