Dogs Are Smart But They Barely Ever Show It

Photo1 (4)Hey, Guys. Today I have a TRUE story. First, I want to say I’m sorry I haven’t posted that much. I just got back from Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and my sister had a five-day swim meet. I’m super busy, but I will still keep posting on K-9 Kid Rescue.

The TRUE story is about Scout, my mischievous little monkey, aka my very strange puppy dog. It all started when we just got Scout. We had just gotten settled in our new house, and we decided we wanted a new little friend from Cody. You probably remember Cody, my four-year old black lab mix. Our  first day leaving Scout was because we had to got to the dentist. We left her on her own in the back yard. She got out of yard, and when we returned home, Scout was on the front porch looking innocent as ever.

We put up “video cameras” to see what Scout was doing. We looked at the tapes and found out that she was digging under the fences that led under the house. From under the house, she went into the front yard and out into the world.

We decided to replace the fences around our house with stones. Then Scout started digging a big hole under our gigantic pine tree. She is still digging that hole to this day. If you find Scout in your yard, you can assume that her hole is complete!

PS I’m thinking about trying to make K-9 Kid papers for all the Cute Recruits so keep your eyes open.

by Carrie, age 8

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jujy54  On August 4, 2014 at 3:18 am

    You had me at the title. Great story and great writing, dear Carrie.

  • marf50  On August 3, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    We have so many squirrels . . . so they better watch out. Scout may be on the way! I sure do miss my swimming buddy here in North Carolina. Thanks for the great story AND the warning that I’ll pass on to our squirrels! Nana

  • Beth  On August 3, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    Loved ypur story Carrie. I guess you could say that at least Scout is consistent about her digging. You have a natural ability for writing and look forward to reading more posts. Love, Beth

  • mizunogirl  On August 3, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Great story about Scout! What a funny dog. I also have a big dog who does all sorts of silly things. We call him “Teulu the wonder dog” (Teulu is a Welsh word that means family/home, it’s an old word.) The wonder dog part is funny because he is really not a wonder dog!!!! He’s just a Wonderful family pet! I enjoyed reading your story.

  • Kim Krause  On August 3, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    Hi Carrie,
    Thanks for writing this story. I loved it! Isn’t it funny how smart dogs are and how they pretend to not understand anything you say unless it’s come here for a treat, or roll over so I can pet your belly!
    Please keep writing!
    Kim

  • nanbarn  On August 3, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Dear Carrie, This is a terrific TRUE story of Scout! I enjoyed reading it. Your line “If you find Scout in your yard, you can assume that her hole is complete!” made me laugh out loud. You are a good writer and storyteller, and I admire the work you do with K-9 Rescue. Nancy

Leave a Reply

